Contact the GG Archives

Anderson, SC USA

September 1968 Proceedings Magazine: United States Naval Institute

September 1968 Proceedings Magazine: United States Naval Institute

For the advancement of professional, literary, and scientific knowledge in the Navy
Proceedings The painting of the famous "Windy Corner" of the Battle of Jutland,
September 1968 by Charles Dixon, R.I., depicts, in the foreground, HMS Bellerophon maneuvering into battle line ahead as light cruisers
race up on the disengaged side of the Grand Fleet. The picture is reproduced by the courtesy of the
Elder Brethren of
Trinity House.
The U. S. Naval Institute is a private, professional society for all who are interested in naval and maritime affairs. It is a self-supporting, non-profit organization and is not a part of the U. S. Navy Department.
The opinions or assertions in the articles are the personal ones of the authors and are not to be construed as official. They do not necessarily reflect the views of either the Navy Department or the U. S. Naval Institute.
All photographs, unless credited, are official Department of Defense releases.
Editorial and Business Offices: Annapolis, Maryland 21402. Telephone: 301-213-4952.
Published monthly by the U.S. Naval Institute. Second-doss postage paid at the Post Office in MENASHA, WISCONSIN, and at additional mailing office, under act of August 24, 1912. Acceptance for mailing at the special rate of postage provided for in section 1103, Act of October 3, 1917, authorised March 13, 1922.
Membership dues for the U. S. Naval Institute (including PROCEEDINGS), $6.50 a year for the United States and possessions, including FPO and APO addresses. $7.50 for foreign addresses.
Subscription rate $8.50 a year for the United States and possessions, including FPO and APO addresses. $9.50 for foreign addresses. Single copies from current year 81.00. Single copies from previous years $1.00.
Copyright ® 1968 by U. S. Naval Institute.
Secretary's Notes
Alliances: The Ties That Bind
by Alvin J. Cottrell and Stanley L. Harrison
• • • a most successful naval visit"
by Cdr. R. E. Bublitz, USN
The Geneva Conventions in the Shadow War by Cdr. Gardiner M. Haight, USN
Progress and Problems in the War Colleges by Capt. R. R. Campbell, SC, USN
by Cdr. Charles R. Stephan
The Proximity Fuze: Whose Brainchild? by James W. Brennan
Forgotten Firebrand
by Lt. Cdr. Gilbert Workman, USNR (R)
Pictorial—A New Challenge for the USS New Jersey (BB-62)
Photography by Robert de Gast
Comment and Discussion
Book Reviews
Professional Reading
Professional Notes
The Old Navy
Book List
Board of Control
Admiral Thomas H. Moorer, U. S. Navy
Rear Admiral James F. Calvert, U. S. Navy
Commander R. T. E. Bowler, Jr., U. S. Navy (Retired)
Rear Admiral Henry L. Miller, U. S. Navy Rear Admiral W. P. Mack, U. S. Navy Brigadier General Herman Poggemeyer,
U. S. Marine Corps
Captain Lawrence Heyworth, Jr., U. S. Navy Captain Albert A. Heckman, U. S. Coast Guard Captain Raymond A. Komorowski, U. S. Navy
Past Presidents
Admiral David D. Porter 1873
Rear Admiral John L. Worden 1874
Rear Admiral C. V. R. Rodgers 1875-78,1882-83 Commodore Foxhall A. Parker 1878-79
Rear Admiral John Rodgers 1879-82
Rear Admiral Thornton A. Jenkins 1883-85 Rear Admiral Edward Simpson 1885-87 Rear Admiral Stephen B. Luce 1887-98 Rear Admiral Wm. T. Sampson 1898-1902 Rear Admiral H. C. Taylor 1902-1904
Rear Admiral C. F. Goodrich 1904-1909 Rear Admiral Richard Wainwright 1909-11 Rear Admiral Bradley A. Fiske 1911-23 Vice Admiral William L. Rodgers 1923-24
Admiral Henry B. Wilson 1924-26 Admiral Hilary P. Jones 1926-28
Rear Admiral Edward W. Eberle 1928-29 Admiral S. S. Robison 1929-31
Rear Admiral M. L. Bristol 1931-33 Admiral William H. Standley 1933-35 Admiral David Foote Sellers 1935-37 Fleet Admiral William D. Leahy 1937-40 Admiral H. R. Stark 1940-42
Fleet Admiral Chester W. Nimitz 1942-43,1946-48 Fleet Admiral E. J. King 1943-46
Admiral Louis E. Denfield 1948-50
Admiral Robert B. Carney 1950-52,1954-56 Admiral William M. Fechtler 1952-56 Admiral Arleigh A. Burke 1956-59,1960-61
Admiral Jerauld Wright 1959-60 Admiral George W. Anderson, Jr. 1961-63 Admiral David L. McDonald 1963-67
U. S. Naval. Institute Staff
Executive Editor
Cdr. R. T. E. Bowler, Jr., U. S. Navy (Retired)
Editorial Director Roger C. Taylor
Cdr. Robert P. Brewer, U. S. Navy (Retired)
Assistant Editors Clayton R. Barrow, Jr. Katherine McInnis
Ed Holm
Joel E. Truitt
Associate Editors
Capt. W. S. DeLany, Jr., U. S. Navy
Prof. C. P. Lemieux, U. S. Naval Academy Robert A. Lambert, U. S. Naval Academy
Lt. Cdr. Arnold S. Lott, U. S. Navy (Retired) Assistant Editors
Louise Gerretson
Mary Veronica Amoss
Kenneth G. Walsh
Frank Uhlig, Jr.
Editorial Assistant Christine R. Ulrich
David Q. Scott
Gerard A. Valerio Delroy Kiser
Melbourne Smith Nick Kirilloff
Promotion Manager Fred Stolley
Business Manager H. Gordon Williams
Donovan/Burke, Inc. Advertising Department Production Manager: M. A. Thompson
225 Park Avenue, New York, N. Y. 10017 West Coast Representative
9220 Sunset Blvd., Los Angeles, Calif. 90069
36 43 52 60 72 79
102 116 125 130 146 150 152 162

September 1968 Proceedings Magazine Expanded Front Cover

Return to Top of Page