Yank Weekly: Yanks at Home and Abroad - 1945-04-06

Lend-Lease Art

Eastern Command, USSTAF, Somewhere in the Soviet Union—Reverse lend-lease in the form of a good-will gesture was made here recently when 1st Sgt. Peter F. Sabakar of the Red Army painted a portrait of President Roosevelt to accompany one of Marshal Stalin. Both portraits now hang on the stage of a theater built jointly by American and Russian GIs.

Sgt. Sabaker, a self-taught artist, did the job in one day from a photograph that appeared in Stars & Stripes. He has been in the Soviet Army since the beginning of the war, was awarded the Medal for Courage and was recently retired from active duty because of a bad bullet wound in his hand. -s9t. samuei chavkin
YANK Field Correspondent

1st Sgt. Morris Hornstein (center) turns postman for Pfc. Godin (left) and Pfc. Cerrato outside The Tent.

Home Is Where You Make It

New Hebrides—In the beginning it was just another GI pyramidal tent. Now it’s known as The Tent and is the home of Pfc. Gerald Godin of Auburn, Maine, and Pfc. Mike Cerrato of New York City. It has easy chairs, a chicken yard, vegetable and flower gardens and even a mailbox. Around the front is a white picket fence, with a latticed arch for a gateway. The tent has neatly screened sidewalls. The smooth floor is painted red and white in a checkerboard design. On one side is a kitchen cabinet, equipped with a Coleman stove. On another side is a writing desk with chair to match. About the only things lacking are a piano and the little woman. The furniture was all made by Godin, a former shipyard worker. Cerrato is responsible for the landscaping details.

Oh, yes. There is also a boarder. He’s the first sergeant, who came to dinner one night and has lived there ever since. _sgt. james goble YANK Staff Correspondent

Rough on Rats

Mindoro, Philippines—Before the war, the owner of the land on which this AAF Squadron built its camp spent $13,000 to clear the area of rats. He was not successful.